Annal: 1971 Whitbread Book Award for Biography

Results of the Whitbread Book Award in the year 1971.



Michael Meyer

Generally acknowledged as the founder of modern prose drama, Henrik Ibsen is now regarded as the first major innovative modern dramatist. Creating new attitudes to theatre, he is credited with being one of the first to write about ordinary people in prose, abandoning traditional theatrical effects in favour of a new style of performance.

Michael Meyer is the world authority on Ibsen, and this highly acclaimed biography is regarded as the definitive life of the founding genius of modern European theatre.

Views: 660 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.022 sec