Annal: 1972 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Results of the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award in the year 1972.

Book:Red Moon and Black Mountain

Red Moon and Black Mountain

Joy Chant

Book:The Children of Llyr

The Children of Llyr: The Second Branch of the Mabinogion

Evangeline Walton


Corum: The Coming of Chaos

Michael Moorcock

Originally a trilogy comprised of The Knight of the Swords, The Queen of the Swords, and The King of the Swords. They are now collectively referred to as “The Corum Trilogy”, “The Coming of Chaos”, or “The Swords Trilogy”. The trilogy was nominated for a Mythopoeic Fantasy Award in 1972.

Book:The Forest of Forever

The Forest of Forever

Thomas Burnett Swann



John Gardner

The first and most terrifying monster in English literature, from the great early epic Beowulf, tells his side of the story.

Book:The Light Maze

The Light Maze

Joan North

A twenty-year-old English girl finds herself drawn into another dimension while trying to solve the mysterious disappearance of her godfather.

Book:The Tombs of Atuan

The Tombs of Atuan: Book 2 of The Earthsea Cycle

Ursula K. Le Guin

When young Tenar is chosen as high priestess to the ancient and nameless Powers of the Earth, everything is taken away—home, family, possessions, even her name. For she is now Arha, the Eaten One, guardian of the ominous Tombs of Atuan. While she is learning her way through the dark labyrinth, a young wizard, Ged, comes to steal the Tombs’ greatest hidden treasure, the Ring of Erreth-Akbe. But Ged also brings with him the light of magic, and together, he and Tenar escape from the darkness that has become her domain.

Book:The Tsaddik of the Seven Wonders

The Tsaddik of the Seven Wonders

Isidore Haiblum

Views: 762 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.021 sec