Annal: 1973 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature

Results of the National Book Award in the year 1973.

Book:The Farthest Shore

The Farthest Shore: Book 3 of The Earthsea Cycle

Ursula K. Le Guin

Darkness threatens to overtake Earthsea: the world and its wizards are losing their magic. Despite being wearied with age, Ged Sparrowhawk—Archmage, wizard, and dragonlord—embarks on a daring, treacherous journey, accompanied by Enlad’s young Prince Arren, to discover the reasons behind this devastating pattern of loss. Together they will sail to the farthest reaches of their world—even beyond the realm of death—as they seek to restore magic to a land desperately thirsty for it.

Views: 626 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec