Annal: 1980 Dagger Award for Crime Novel

Results of the Dagger Award in the year 1980.

Book:The Murder of the Maharajah

The Murder of the Maharajah

H.R.F. Keating

A princely state in India, 1930, under the British Raj. To Bhopore and its opulent Summer Palace comes a handful of Western visitors to meet the outrageous Maharajah and his entourage. There they met the Maharajah’s heir, the sensual Porgy, and his English chorus-girl mistress. They meet the enigmatic chief minister—and the aloof British Resident, with his dignified little nine-year-old son. And before long they also meet sudden death….Various people in the Palace become suspects, and an imperturbable District Superintendent of Police is called in. But who will he find guilty of the murder of the Maharajah?

Book:Monk's Hood

Monk's Hood: The 3rd Chronicle of Brother Cadfael

Ellis Peters

When a visitor to the abbey dies, Brother Cadfael faces a personal drama. For not only was the man poisoned by monk’s hood oil, made in Cadfael’s own laboratory, the dead man’s widow is also the woman to whom Cadfael was betrothed before he took his vows.

Views: 693 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.026 sec