Annal: 1981 John W. Campbell Award

Results of the John W. Campbell Award in the year 1981.



Gregory Benford

In the year 1998, a group of scientists works desperately to communicate with the scientists of 1962, warning of an ecological disaster that will destroy the oceans in the future—if it is not averted in the past.

Book:Dreaming Dragons

Dreaming Dragons

Damien Broderick

Book:The Shadow of the Torturer

The Shadow of the Torturer: Volume 1 of The Book of the New Sun

Gene Wolfe

The Shadow of the Torturer is the tale of young Severian, an apprentice in the Guild of Torturers on the world called Urth, exiled for committing the ultimate sin of his profession—showing mercy toward his victim.

Ursula K. Le Guin said, “Magic stuff…a masterpiece…the best science fiction I’ve read in years!”

Views: 905 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.022 sec