Annal: 1983 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Results of the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award in the year 1983.

Book:The Firelings

The Firelings

Carol Kendall

Book:The Blue Sword

The Blue Sword

Robin McKinley

Harry Crewe is an orphan girl who comes to live in Damar, the desert country shared by the Homelanders and the secretive, magical Hillfolk. Her life is quiet and ordinary-until the night she is kidnapped by Corlath, the Hillfolk King, who takes her deep into the desert. She does not know the Hillfolk language; she does not know why she has been chosen. But Corlath does. Harry is to be trained in the arts of war until she is a match for any of his men. Does she have the courage to accept her true fate?

Book:The Darkangel

The Darkangel: Book 1 of the Darkangel Trilogy

Meredith Ann Pierce

A young woman’s unlikely love saves the soul of an evil vampyre in Meredith Ann Pierce’s classic fantasy.

Book:Door in the Hedge

Door in the Hedge

Robin McKinley

Master storyteller Robin McKinley here spins two new fairy tales and retells two cherished classics. All feature princesses touched with or by magic. There is Linadel, who lives in a kingdom next to Faerieland, where princesses are stolen away on their seventeenth birthdays-and Linadel’s seventeenth birthday is tomorrow. And Korah, whose brother is bewitched by the magical Golden Hind; now it is up to her to break the spell. Rana must turn to a talking frog to help save her kingdom from the evil Aliyander. And then there are the twelve princesses, enspelled to dance through the soles of their shoes every night…. These are tales to read with delight!

Book:God Stalk

God Stalk

P.C. Hodgell

Book:Lady of Light

Lady of Light

Diana L. Paxson

Book:The Mists of Avalon

The Mists of Avalon

Marion Zimmer Bradley

Here is the magical legend of King Arthur, vividly retold through the eyes and lives of the women who wielded power from behind the throne. A spellbinding novel, an extraordinary literary achievement, The Mists Of Avalon will stay with you for a long time to come….

Book:The One Tree

The One Tree: Book 2 of The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant

Stephen R. Donaldson

Thomas Covenant and Linden Avery begin their search for the One Tree that is to be the salvation of the Land. Only he could find the answer and forge a new Staff of Law—but fate decreed that the journey was to be long, the quest arduous, and quite possibly a failure….

Book:Queen of Sorcery

Queen of Sorcery: Book 2 of The Belgariad

David Eddings

The master Sorcerer Belgarath and his daughter Polgara the arch-Sorceress were on the trail of the Orb, seeking to regain its saving power before the final disaster prophesized by the legends. And with them went Garion, a simple farm boy only months before, but now the focus of the struggle. He had never believed in sorcery and wanted no part of it. Yet with every league they traveled, the power grew in him, forcing him to acts of wizardry he could not accept.

Views: 831 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.020 sec