Annal: 1983 Whitbread Book Award for Novel

Results of the Whitbread Book Award in the year 1983.

Book:Fools of Fortune

Fools of Fortune

William Trevor

Willy Quinton lived a pleasant, cosseted life in County Cork, untouched by the troubles…until the soldiers came and took a terrible revenge.

Marianne Woodcombe, his cousin, lived in Dorset, unaware that she was part of a cycle of hatred…

Spanning sixty years, William Trevor’s tender and beautiful love story has at its centre a dark and violent act which spills over into the mutilated lives of generations to come.

Views: 811 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec