Annal: 1986 Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction

Results of the Governor General's Literary Award in the year 1986.

Book:The Progress of Love

The Progress of Love: Stories

Alice Munro

A divorced woman returns to her childhood home where she confronts the memory of her parents’ confounding yet deep bond. The accidental near-drowning of a child exposes the fragility of the trust between children and parents. A young man, remembering a terrifying childhood incident, wrestles with the responsibility he has always felt for his younger brother. In these and other stories Alice Munro proves once again a sensitive and compassionate chronicler of our times. Drawing us into the most intimate corners of ordinary lives, she reveals much about ourselves, our choices, and our experiences of love.

Book:Adult Entertainment

Adult Entertainment

John Metcalf

Book:No Fixed Address

No Fixed Address: A Novel

Aritha Van Herk

Book:A Stone Watermelon

A Stone Watermelon

Lois Braun

Views: 629 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.019 sec