Annal: 1987 Golden Kite Fiction Award

Results of the Golden Kite Award in the year 1987.

Book:Rabble Starkey

Rabble Starkey

Lois Lowry

Many things change for twelve-year-old Rabble Starkey, her mother, and her best friend, Veronica Bigelow, when Veronica’s mother becomes mentally incapacitated and the Starkeys move in with the Bigelows.

Book:The Great Dimpole Oak

The Great Dimpole Oak

Janet Taylor Lisle

The Great Dimpole Oak is a massive tree hundreds of years old. Generations have carved their names in its trunk, and dug for buried treasure at its base. When a town matron decides to celebrate Dimpole Oak Day, events and lives are set in motion—including those of two boys, two young lovers, the old farmer whose land the tree is on, and a swami from India!

Views: 602 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.035 sec