Annal: 1987 John W. Campbell Award

Results of the John W. Campbell Award in the year 1987.

Book:A Door Into Ocean

A Door Into Ocean

Joan Slonczewski

A Door into Ocean is the novel upon which the author’s reputation as an important SF writer principally rests. A ground-breaking work both of feminist SF and of world-building hard SF, it concerns the Sharers of Shora, a nation of women on a distant moon in the far future who are pacifists, highly advanced in biological sciences, and who reproduce by parthenogenesis—there are no males—and tells of the conflicts that erupt when a neighboring civilization decides to develop their ocean world, and send in an army.

Book:This Is the Way the World Ends

This Is the Way the World Ends

James Morrow

George Paxton was an ordinary man until something extraordinary happened—nuclear holocaust. Now George Paxton is about to discover what happens after the end of the world.

“Astute, highly engaging, and finally moving”.—Los Angeles Times.

Book:Speaker For The Dead

Speaker For The Dead: Book 2 of the Ender Quartet

Orson Scott Card

In the aftermath of his terrible war, Ender Wiggin disappeared, and a powerful voice arose: The Speaker for the Dead, who told the true story of the Bugger War.

Now, long years later, a second alien race has been discovered, but again the aliens’ ways are strange and frightening…again, humans die. And it is only the Speaker for the Dead, who is also Ender Wiggin the Xenocide, who has the courage to confront the mystery…and the truth.

Views: 1,054 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.019 sec