Annal: 1988 Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction

Results of the Governor General's Literary Award in the year 1988.

Book:Nights Below Station Street

Nights Below Station Street

David Adams Richards

David Adams Richards’ Governor General’s Award-winning novel is a powerful tale of resignation and struggle, fierce loyalties and compassion. This book is the first in Richards’ acclaimed Miramichi trilogy. Set in a small mill town in northern New Brunswick, it draws us into the lives of a community of people who live there, including: Joe Walsh, isolated and strong in the face of a drinking problem; his wife, Rita, willing to believe the best about people; and their teenage daughter Adele, whose nature is rebellious and wise, and whose love for her father wars with her desire for independence. Richards’ unforgettable characters are linked together in conflict, and in articulate love and understanding. Their plight as human beings is one we share.

Book:Atmospheres Apollinaire

Atmospheres Apollinaire

Mark Frutkin

Book:Cat's Eye

Cat's Eye

Margaret Atwood

Cat’s Eye is the story of Elaine Risley, a controversial painter who returns to Toronto, the city of her youth, for a retrospective of her art. Engulfed by vivid images of the past, she reminisces about a trio of girls who initiated her into the fierce politics of childhood and its secret world of friendship, longing, and betrayal. Elaine must come to terms with her own identity as a daughter, a lover, an artist, and a woman—but above all she must seek release from her haunting memories.

Disturbing, hilarious, and compassionate, Cat’s Eye is a breathtaking novel of a woman grappling with the tangled knot of her life.

Book:The Cost of Living

The Cost of Living

Kenneth Radu

Book:The Victory of Geraldine Gull

The Victory of Geraldine Gull

Joan Clark

Views: 763 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.018 sec