Annal: 1988 John W. Campbell Award

Results of the John W. Campbell Award in the year 1988.

Book:Lincoln's Dreams

Lincoln's Dreams

Connie Willis

The Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of Doomsday Book presents the story of a young historical researcher who is being pulled deeper and deeper into the time of the Civil War. “A novel of classical proportions and virtues”. —Washington Post Book World.

Book:The Sea and Summer

The Sea and Summer

George Turner

Francis Conway is Swill—one of the 90% in the year 2041 who must subsist on the inadequate charities of the state. A young boy growing Life, already difficult, is rapidly becoming impossible for Francis and others like him, as government corruption, official blindness and nature have conspired to turn Swill homes into watery tombs. And now the young boy must find a way to escape the approaching tide of disaster.

The Sea and Summer, published in the US as The Drowning Towers is George Turner’s masterful exploration of the effects of climate change in the not-too-distant future. Comparable to J.G. Ballard’s The Drowned World.

Book:Unconquered Countries

Unconquered Countries: Four Novellas

Geoff Ryman

The four short novels in this collection celebrate the marvels of Geoff Ryman’s imagination, ranging from the searing dystopia of “O Happy Day!” to the spectacular extrapolations of “A Fall of Angels”. Including the award-winning novella “The Unconquered Country” and two works new to this volume, Unconquered Countries is an assemblage of wonders from a truly fantastic writer.

Views: 911 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.017 sec