Annal: 1990 Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel

Results of the Macavity Award in the year 1990.

Book:A Little Class on Murder

A Little Class on Murder

Carolyn G. Hart

When mystery bookstore owner Annie Laurance is invited to teach “The Three Great Ladies of the Mystery” class at Chastain Community College, the sometime sleuth discovers that all is not strictly academic in Chastain’s hallowed halls of learning. And when a shocking scandal in the school newspaper erupts in a suicide and two violent deaths, Professor Laurance enlists the talents of her new hubby, private eye Max Darling, and dons her thinking cap to probe intrigue and vengeance among Chastain’s faculty.

Max and Annie, with dubious help from three of their own great ladies of the mystery—Annie’s pixilated mother-in-law, a batty local dowager, and a Christie crime fanatic—learn that just about everyone at the school had means, motive, and access to the murder weapons. From the secretly boozing professor of advertising to the muscle-bound campus cad who barters passing grades for a little extracurricular activity, anyone on the faculty is a possible killer—waiting to strike again!

Views: 648 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec