Annal: 1990 World Fantasy Award for Novel

Results of the World Fantasy Award in the year 1990.


Madouc: Book 3 of Lyonesse

Jack Vance

The World Fantasy Award-winning third volume of the Lyonesse trilogy brings attention to the faerie changeling Madouc.

Where princess Suldrun once meekly endured the proprieties of Castle Haidion, Madouc defends herself with mischief. Vexed, King Casmir and Queen Sollace arrange a contest to marry her off. However, Madouc has other ideas, and leaves with the stableboy “Sir Pom-pom” on a quest to learn the identity of her father, encountering swindlers, faeries, trolls, ogres, a knight in search of his youth, and a relatively pedestrian item known as the Holy Grail. As the sorcerers Shimrod and Murgen investigate dire portents in the world of magic, Casmir schemes to murder prince Dhrun of Troicinet and bring all the lands under his iron rule; however, his ambitions will be complicated by one small but important oversight—he’s failed to allow for Madouc!

Book:Carrion Comfort

Carrion Comfort

Dan Simmons

All humans feed on violence. But only those with the Ability have tested the ultimate power. Ordinary vampires possess the body. But only those who use the living can violate the soul. They gather their strength through the years. They plot their unholy games. They war among themselves. And the victor will stand alone against them all without defenses.

Book:A Child Across the Sky

A Child Across the Sky

Jonathan Carroll

After his best friend’s suicide, a film director gets a glimpse into the beyond.

Like many young men before them, Weber and Philip went to Hollywood to make their fortune. Weber became one of the most respected directors of his generation, but Philip’s talent went unnoticed until he found his calling making horror pictures, a genre in which his gruesome imagination could shine. But everything changes one morning when he calls his old friend Weber to say hello, then kills himself only an hour later. 

From Philip, Weber inherits a box of three videotapes. The first tape begins with Philip, warning Weber of challenges ahead, mysterious things he couldn’t handle but believes that Weber can. Then Weber sees something unbelievable: a first-person view of his mother’s last minutes alive before a plane crash took her life in 1960. Weber watches her settle into her airplane seat…[more]

Book:In a Dark Dream

In a Dark Dream

Charles L. Grant

A horror story written by the author of “For Fear of the Night”, “The Pet”, “The Long Night of the Grave” and “The dark Cry on the Moon”.

Jimmy Hale, a murderous psychopath who has somehow convinced his doctors that he is sane, is coming home. Glenn Erskine's young daughters are having nightmares of blood, death, and horror--each one a warning that Jimmy is on his way!

Book:Soldier of Areté

Soldier of Areté

Gene Wolfe

Book:The Stress of Her Regard

The Stress of Her Regard

Tim Powers

On a rainswept night alive with lightning and thunder, a doctor staggers, drunken, through the streets, and slips a wedding ring on the finger of a bewitching statue…

On the morning after his wedding, Dr. Michael Crawford awakens to a bed soaked by carnage… and the impossibly savaged body of his bride. Already marked with guilt for the accidental deaths of his previous wife and his younger brother, Crawford flees England to escape the hangman’s noose. His only hope lies with England’s greatest, and most notorious, poets - Lord Byron, Percy Shelley and John Keats - who bring Crawford to a terrible understanding of the strange force that damns him as surely as it protects him from harm.

For Crawford has another, secret bride, one who rules the hours of his sleep; it is she whom Keats called la belle dame sans merce, the poet’s muse. She is as beautiful as she is evil, an eons-old power that has sparked a hundred myths, and now threatens to ravage the lives of each of her lovers…

Views: 951 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.019 sec