Annal: 1991 Prometheus Award for Best Novel

Results of the Prometheus Award in the year 1991.

Book:In the Country of the Blind

In the Country of the Blind

Michael Flynn

Set primarily in the present, with tantalizing flashbacks to the 1800s, In the Country of the Blind concerns a small group of American idealists who manage to actually build the Analytical Engine designed by Charles Babbage and use it to develop mathematical models that could chart the likely course of the future. When their calculations predicted a united Germany armed with unimaginably powerful bombs by 1939, the Charles Babbage Society kept it from ever happening. Soon they were working to alter history’s course to their own liking in other ways. By the 1990s the Society has become the secret master of the world. But no secret can be kept forever, at least not without drastic measures. When her plans for some historic real estate lead developer and ex-reporter Sarah Beaumont to stumble across the Society’s existence, it is just the first step into a baffling and deadly maze of conspiracies.

Book:The Cybernetic Shogun

The Cybernetic Shōgun

Victor Milán

Two superintelligent computers war for control of the future of humanity. Sequel to The Cybernetic Samurai.

Book:Infinity Gambit

Infinity Gambit

James P. Hogan

Book:Under The Yoke

Under the Yoke

S.M. Stirling

Book:V for Vendetta

V for Vendetta

Alan Moore, David Lloyd

A powerful story about loss of freedom and individuality, V for Vendetta takes place in a totalitarian England following a devastating war that changed the face of the planet. In a world without political freedom, personal freedom and precious little faith in anything comes a mysterious man in a white porcelain mask who fights political oppressors through terrorism and seemingly absurd acts. It’s a gripping tale of the blurred lines between ideological good and evil.

Views: 741 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.019 sec