Annal: 1992 John Creasey Memorial New Blood Dagger for a Debuting Author

Results of the Dagger Award in the year 1992.

Book:The Ice House

The Ice House

Minette Walters

With this stunning debut—a marvelous marriage of classic convention and contemporary sophistication—Minette Walters sets a new standard of excellence for the mystery novel.

The three women living in seclusion at an elegant Hampshire country house have long been fodder for village gossip…even whispers of a witches’ coven. So when a faceless corpse of uncertain vintage is found in the Streech Grange ice house, Chief Inspector Walsh can’t wait to make a case of it.

Lady of the manor Phoebe Maybury, still haunted by Walsh’s relentless investigation of her husband’s strange disappearance ten years ago, is calm. She and her two housemates—sensitive, charming artist Diana Goode and pretty, earthy Anne Cattrell—seem as puzzled as the police. But do they have something to hide? …[more]

Views: 640 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.030 sec