Annal: 1995 Whitbread Book Award for Children's Book

Results of the Whitbread Book Award in the year 1995.

Book:The Wreck of the Zanzibar

The Wreck of the Zanzibar

Michael Morpurgo

The powerful tale of 14-year-old Laura Perryman is told through entries from her diary that she passes on to her great-nephew Michael. He is astonished to discover the remarkable details of her life in the 1900s on the stormy coast of Britain’s Scilly Isles, where her family lives on the bounty, and at the mercy, of the ocean.

Book:Kasper in the Glitter

Kasper in the Glitter

Philip Ridley

Kasper goes into the city to retrieve a stolen brooch. He is enticed into the gang of the evil King Streetwise, who sets out to enslave lost children. Before the end of the tale, Kasper has to rescue his mother, kidnapped by King Streetwise, using the biggest banoffi pie ever created.

Book:The Parsley Parcel

The Parsley Parcel

Elizabeth Arnold

Freya is abandoned by her great-grandmother, with a promise to fulfil and a wish to grant. Life is hard at Emma Hemingway’s house, but when she rescues a magpie, she regains a part of her freedom. Freya learns she has a special gift and Emma softens, realizing spells only work if love is employed.

Views: 764 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.018 sec