Annal: 2001 International Horror Guild Award for Nonfiction

Results of the International Horror Guild Award in the year 2001.

Book:Wild Hairs

Wild Hairs

David J. Schow

The essays by David J. Schow, whose regular column in Fangoria was well known for its rants and raves in the tradition of Dennis Miller, Harlan Ellison, and Professor Irwin Corey, are collected here for the first time. Schow spouts off on a wide variety of subjects ranging from the essence of horror to the perils of censorship to whatever happened to be on his mind at the time. These pieces are insightful, provocative, frequently witty, and always entertaining—which is exactly what you’d expect from the writer of “Red Light,” “Bunny Didn’t Tell Us,” and “Not from Around Here.”

Book:Book of the Dead Friends of Yesteryear: Fictioneers & Others

Book of the Dead Friends of Yesteryear: Fictioneers & Others

E. Hoffmann Price

During a writing career lasting nearly seven decades, E. Hoffman Price formed lasting friendships with many of the great and near-great fictioneers, editors and artists of his day—H.P. Lovecraft, Robert E. Howard, Clark Ashton Smith, Otis Adelbert Kilne, Farnsworth Wright, W. K. Mashburn, Ralph Milne Farley, Seabury Quinn, Hugh Rankin, Robert Spencer Carr, Barsoom Badigian, Harry Olmstead, Albert Richard Wetjen, Norbert W. Davis, Milo Ray Phelps, William S. Bruner, Henry Kuttner, Jack Williamson, August Derleth, and Edmond Hamilton. Through long correspondence and many cross country trips, E. Hoffman Price kept diaries of his visits, which from time to time he transformed into essays recalling the grand old days of the fictioneer’s precarious way of life. Several essays were previously published in fanzines and as Arkham House book introductions. In 1977, Price rewrote these and added additional essays to fill a book. This is one of the most fascintating and historically important books about the pulp fiction era.

Book:Dark Dreamers

Dark Dreamers: Facing the Masters of Fear

Stanley Wiater, Beth Gwinn

There has never been a book like this before…

Dark Dreamers: Facing the Masters of Fear is a unique collection of images celebrating over one hundred of the greatest authors, artists and filmmakers in the world! With each and every amazing photograph—coupled with insightful commentary by (or about) each subject—the photographer and the journalist fearlessly illuminate those who work on the dark side of the arts.

Among the authors: Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Clive Barker, Peter Straub, Ray Bradbury, Richard Matheson, John Saul, Joyce Carol Oates, Poppy Z. Brite, Richard Laymon, Jack Ketchum, Robert Bloch, Neil Gaiman, Dan Simmons, and dozens of others.

Among the artists: Bernie Wrightson, Gahan Wilson, H.R. Giger, Alan M. Clark, Bob Eggleton, and many more.

Among the filmmakers: Wes Craven, John Carpenter, Frank Darabont, Rick Baker, Stan Winston, Christopher Lee, and many…[more]

Book:If Chins Could Kill

If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B Movie Actor

Bruce Campbell

If Chins Could Kill is a delightfully irreverent, yet oddly touching, epic of ambition and disappointment, fame and anonymity, and lots of fake blood. Told in Bruce’s wry, sarcastic voice, it is a “Hollywood from the bleacher seats” look at his experiences in film and TV and at his status as a cult horror and sci-fi movie god. This man with the face of a matinee idol and the heart of a Three Stooge first attracted what has grown into an enormous cult following as the star of Sam Raimi’s legendary Evil Dead trilogy of thriller-comedies. With tireless…

Book:Ramsey Campbell and Modern Horror Fiction

Ramsey Campbell and Modern Horror Fiction

S.T. Joshi

Ramsey Campbell is one of the world’s leading writers of supernatural stories, although he has received far less attention than other practitioners of the genre. Joshi focuses in a thematic rather than chronological approach on the whole of Campbell’s rich and varied work, from his early tales to the powerfully innovative stories collected in Demons by Daylight (1973). Campbell’s many novels from The Doll Who Ate His Mother (1975) to Silent Children (1999) are also examined in detail. Throughout this book, the author places Campbell’s oeuvre within the context of contemporary horror literature.

Views: 628 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.018 sec