Annal: 2002 Prometheus Award for Best Novel

Results of the Prometheus Award in the year 2002.

Book:Psychohistorical Crisis

Psychohistorical Crisis

Donald Kingsbury

A loving homage to Asimov, and dialogue with him—a triumph of galactic-scaled SF that is destined to be recognized as a classic in its own right

Eron Osa had faced the ultimate penalty. Not death, but the removal of his fam. Without the augmentation of his brain by his electronic familiar, he can barely function amidst the bewildering complexities of everyday life on Splendid Wisdom. Here, on the capital world of the galaxy’s Second Empire, everyone from the meanest citizen to the ruling Pscholars has depended upon a fam since childhood. Without one, simply navigating the streets and levels of the planetary megalopolis is a paralyzing challenge. Lost along with such everyday survival skills were many of Eron’s memories and his professional knowledge. The crime he committed must have been terrible to warrant such a dreadful punishment. If only he could remember what it was!

Book:The American Zone

The American Zone

L. Neil Smith

In The Probability Broach, which won the coveted Prometheus Award for Best Libertarian Fiction, L. Neil Smith created a universe parallel to ours, in which George Washington was executed, there was no Civil War, drugs are sold in vending machines, a gorilla is President of the North American Confederacy, there is no United States, and everybody—and that means everybody—carries guns.

Now, in this much anticipated sequel to The Probability Broach, we again follow Detective Win Bear as he combats terrorists who have begun a campaign of bombings and murders that rocks his world. Since crossing over to the Confederacy from the United States in 1987, Win has found his niche, as the only detective in this alternative to the exploitative taxes, laws, and hypocrisies of the United States. Happily married and working at a job he loves, Win feels his life is complete so when innocent people…[more]

Book:Enemy Glory

Enemy Glory

Karen Michalson

Young Llewelyn is an unhappy child in the southern city of Sunnashiven. Estranged from his parents, he finds solace in the friendship of a local hedge witch who teaches him and gives him hope with her predictions for his future. After the witch dies, Llewelyn wants to continue learning and is allowed to enter school and train to be a religious magician.

His education is interrupted when war leads to revolution in Llewelyn’s small kingdom. Llewelyn, now a young man, flees to another country and joins a strange little revolutionary cadre led by young Duke Walworth. There he lives an idyllic and idealistic life filled with love and magic. But after a betrayal, he ends up a student in a monastery, in trouble with the law, an angry young magician ready to fight the world. And the war goes on.

Filled with memorable characters, abundant lush imagery, and true strangeness, Enemy Glory is the impressive launch of a new fantasy world.

Book:Falling Stars

Falling Stars: Book 4 of Firestar Saga

Michael Flynn

Michael Flynn’s epic of the near future, begun in Firestar and advanced in Rogue Star and Lodestar, climaxes with Falling Stars. In the early years of the 21st century humanity has advanced into space, but has discovered that certain asteroids have changed their orbits and are headed for horrifying impact with Earth. But there is a world financial crash, and politics get in the way of progress, requiring the cast of characters introduced in the earlier books to pull together and save humanity from disaster. With great difficulty, serious preparations begin to reach the asteroids and destroy or divert them, and culminate in a long, exciting voyage out to the asteroid first visited in Rogue Star, where an alien control room was discovered. Filled with ideas, scientific and technological wonders, and compelling familiar characters—Roberta, Chase, Jimmy Poole, Jacinta, and the rest— Falling Stars is a strong conclusion to this multi-volume epic of SF.

Views: 811 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.018 sec