Annal: 2005 Edgar Allan Poe Award® for Best Fact Crime

Results of the Edgar Allan Poe Award® in the year 2005.

Book:Conviction

Conviction: Solving the Moxley Murder: A Reporter and a Detective's Twenty-Year Search for Justice

Leonard Levitt

On October 30, 1975, fifteen-year-old Martha Moxley headed home from Halloween Eve antics with her Greenwich, Connecticut, neighbors Tommy and Michael Skakel. She never made it. Her brutal murder with a golf club in her own backyard made national headlines. But for years no one was arrested, despite troubling clues pointing to the Skakels, a rich and powerful family related to the Kennedys. After the police department’s first unsuccessful attempts to catch the killer, the case lay dormant, and the culprit remained free.

Enter Leonard Levitt. In 1982, the Stamford Advocate and Greenwich Time newspapers asked investigative reporter Levitt to look into the murder and the undying rumors of a cover-up. Levitt soon uncovered groundbreaking information about how the police had bungled the investigation, and he learned that Tommy and Michael had lied about their activities on the night of the murder.…[more]

Book:Are You There Alone? The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates

Are You There Alone? The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates

Suzanne O'Malley

In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner’s Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O’Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it.

As a journalist, Suzanne O’Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O’Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney’s and sheriff’s offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.

O’Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly…[more]

Book:Ballad of the Whiskey Robber

Ballad of the Whiskey Robber: A True Story of Bank Heists, Ice Hockey, Transylvanian Pelt Smuggling, Moonlighting Detectives, and Broken Hearts

Julian Rubinstein

Elmore Leonard meets Franz Kafka in the wild, improbably true story of the legendary outlaw of Budapest.

Attila Ambrus was a gentleman thief, a sort of Cary Grant—if only Grant came from Transylvania, was a terrible professional hockey goalkeeper, and preferred women in leopard-skin hot pants. During the 1990s, while playing for the biggest hockey team in Budapest, Ambrus took up bank robbery to make ends meet. Arrayed against him was perhaps the most incompetent team of crime investigators the Eastern Bloc had ever seen: a robbery chief who had learned how to be a detective by watching dubbed Columbo episodes; a forensics man who wore top hat and tails on the job; and a driver so inept he was known only by a Hungarian word that translates to Mound of Ass-Head.

Ballad of the Whiskey Robber is the completely bizarre and hysterical story of the crime spree that made a nobody…[more]

Book:Forensics For Dummies

Forensics For Dummies

Douglas P. Lyle

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that’s a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell

Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS’s CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell’s novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers. …[more]

Book:Green River, Running Red

Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer—America's Deadliest Serial Murderer

Ann Rule

In the most extraordinary book Ann Rule has ever undertaken, America’s master of true crime has spent more than two decades researching the story of the Green River Killer, who murdered more than forty-nine young women. The quest to discover the most prolific serial killer in American history has been an intimate part of Ann Rule’s life, with some of the corpses found only a mile or so from where she lived and raised her own daughters. She did not know the killer, but he apparently knew her and attended many of her book signings.

For twenty-one years, the killer carried out his self-described “career” as a killing machine, ridding the world of women he considered evil. His eerie ability to lure his victims to their deaths and hide their bodies made him far more dangerous than any infamous multiple murderer in the annals of crime. …[more]

Book:Ready for the People

Ready for the People: My Most Chilling Cases as a Prosecutor

Marissa N. Batt

For more than twenty-five years Marissa Batt has tried cases “for the People” in every one of the thirty-five courtrooms at the Criminal Courts Building in downtown Los Angeles, cases ranging from rape and sodomy to armed robbery and murder. Here is a side of life few ever see or hear about, the brutal street crime in the underbelly of the big city that doesn’t register anywhere except the police blotter. Despite her years immersed in violence and its concomitant pain and suffering, Marissa has never become hardened or jaded. She has an unshakable belief that justice prevails, whether it happens inside or outside a courtroom. “You may think you know the justice system,” she writes, “because you read the papers, listen to the radio, and watch television. But what you get is information that is filtered, distorted, and incomplete.”

In these pages the reader will get the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but, as the deputy D.A. presents the three…[more]

Views: 946 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.019 sec