Annal: 2006 Young Reader’s Choice Award Intermediate Division

Results of the Young Reader’s Choice Award in the year 2006.

Book:Eragon

Eragon: Book 1 of Inheritance

Christopher Paolini

Eragon’s adventure begins when he is out hunting one day in the mountainous region of his world known as the Spine. His aim is disturbed by a polished blue stone that explodes from the sky and narrowly misses him. The oval shaped object, cool and frictionless to his touch, weighs several pounds and it turns out to be his only reward from his day’s hunting session. Eragon’s unsuccessful attempts to exchange the stone for meat for his family begins a run of bad luck that will eventually force him to flee his place of birth and find a new destiny.

Book:The City of Ember

The City of Ember

Jeanne DuPrau

The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever!

This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.

Book:The Conch Bearer

The Conch Bearer

Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

In a dingy shack in the less-than-desirable Indian neighborhood he calls home, twelve-year-old Anand is entrusted with a conch shell that possesses mystical powers. His task is to return the shell to its rightful home many hundreds of miles away. Accompanying him are Nisha, a headstrong but resourceful child of the streets, and a mysterious man of indeterminate age and surprising resources named Abadhyatta. His quest will take him farther from home than he’s ever been and will teach him more than he ever imagined—and it will force him to make a poignant decision that will change him forever.

Book:East

East

Edith Pattou

Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.

As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale “East of the Sun and West of the Moon,” told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

Book:Into the Wild

Into the Wild: Book 1 of Warriors

Erin Hunter

Fire alone can save our Clan…

For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by the powerful ancestors. But the warrior code is threatened, and the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger. The sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying—and some deaths are more mysterious than others.

In the midst of this turmoil appears an ordinary housecat named Rusty…Who may yet turn out to be the bravest warrior of them all.

Book:Millicent Min, Girl Genius

Millicent Min, Girl Genius

Lisa Yee

Millicent Kwan is having a bad summer. Her fellow high school students hate her for setting the curve. Her fellow 11-year-olds hate her for going to high school. And her mother has arranged for her to tutor Stanford Wong, the poster boy for Chinese geekdom. But then Millie meets Emily. Emily doesn’t know Millicent’s IQ score. She actually thinks Millie is cool. And if Millie can hide her awards, ignore her grandmother’s advice, swear her parents to silence, blackmail Stanford, and keep all her lies straight, she just might make her first friend. What’s it going to take? Sheer genius.

Book:The River Between Us

The River Between Us

Richard Peck

Richard Peck is a master of stories about people in transition, but perhaps never before has he told a tale of such dramatic change as this one, set during the first year of the Civil War. The whole country is changing in 1861-even the folks from a muddy little Illinois settlement on the banks of the Mississippi. Here, fifteen-year-old Tilly Pruitt frets over the fact that her brother is dreaming of being a soldier and that her sister is prone to supernatural visions. A boy named Curry could possibly become a distraction.

Then a steamboat whistle splits the air. The Rob Roy from New Orleans docks at the landing, and off the boat step two remarkable figures: a vibrant, commanding young lady in a rustling hoop skirt and a darker, silent woman in a plain cloak, with a bandanna wrapped around her head. Who are these two fascinating strangers? And is the darker woman a slave, standing now on the free…[more]

Book:Shakespeare Bats Cleanup

Shakespeare Bats Cleanup

Ron Koertge

MVP Kevin Boland gets the news that he has mono and won’t be seeing a baseball field for a while, and he suddenly finds himself scrawling a poem down the middle of a page in his journal. To get some help, he cops a poetry book from his dad’s den. Before Kevin knows it, he’s writing in verse about stuff like, Will his jock friends give up on him? What’s the deal with girlfriends? Surprisingly enough, after his health improves, he keeps on writing—about the smart-talking Latina girl who thinks poets are cool, even about his mother, whose death is a still-tender loss for which he finally finds the words.

Written in free verse with examples of several poetic forms slipped into the mix, including a sonnet, haiku, pastoral, and even a pantoum, this funny, poignant story by a master of dialogue is an English teacher’s dream—sure to hook poetry lovers, baseball fanatics, mono recoverers, and everyone in between.

Views: 933 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.020 sec