Annal: 2007 Bram Stoker Award for Fiction Collection

Results of the Bram Stoker Award in the year 2007.

Book:5 Stories

5 Stories

Peter Straub

A wonderful collection of tales by the horror genre’s most literate and endlessly inventive writers.

“Little Red’s Tango” incorporates a vampire story, miracle legends, a saint’s legend, an epistle, beatitudes, and jazz minutiae within a contemporary faux-gospel.

“Lapland, or Film Noir” is a journey to place of the dark, paranoid crime movies made in Los Angeles between 1948 and 1956, which Straub calls “one of the most compelling periods in American film history.”

“The Geezers” is a fascinating exercise in withholding everything that might explain what the protagonists and their friends were up to, and describing instead their reactions to the consequences of the unstated actions. It is Straub at his best.

“Donald Duck” is a surreal study of how a family can be changed irrevocably by the decisions of one reckless member. …[more]

Book:Proverbs for Monsters

Proverbs for Monsters

Michael A. Arnzen

You can catch a good human with a bad hamburger

Proverbs For Monsters is an omnibus of the best writing to date by one the most offbeat and humorous writers working in the horror genre today, Michael A. Arnzen. Hand picked by the author, these are the stories “flash fictions,” and poems most cherished by readers, most enjoyed at live performances, most celebrated by editor of year’s best collections, and most recommended for literary awards from across his career.

An infant vampire bites hardest

In Proverbs For Monsters you’ll get advice for growing your own maneating plant. You’ll ride the movies at Exorcystland—the scariest amusement park ever created. You’ll attend a bizarre grade school for assassins. You’ll meet a…[more]

Book:Defining Moments

Defining Moments

David Niall Wilson

A new collection of novellas, novelettes and stories by the author of This is My Blood, Deep Blue & The Mote in Andrea’s Eye.

Enter a world of chilling terror and thrilling unease. David Niall Wilson will be your guide as you meet vampires, werewolves and other things altogether more terrible. Defining Moments is a representative collection of this award-winning author’s novellas, novelettes and stories—with three all new tales (including two lengthy novellas).

Book:The Imago Sequence and Other Stories

The Imago Sequence: and Other Stories

Laird Barron

To the long tradition of eldritch horror pioneered and refined by writers such as H.P. Lovecraft, Peter Straub, and Thomas Ligotti, comes Laird Barron, an author whose literary voice invokes the grotesque, the devilish, and the perverse with rare intensity and astonishing craftsmanship.

Collected here for the first time are nine terrifying tales of cosmic horror, including the World Fantasy Award-nominated novella “The Imago Sequence,” the International Horror Guild Award-nominated “Proboscis,” and the never-before published “Procession of the Black Sloth.” Together, these stories, each a masterstroke of craft and imaginative irony, form a shocking cycle of distorted evolution, encroaching chaos, and ravenous insectoid hive-minds hidden just beneath the seemingly benign surface of the Earth. …[more]

Book:Old Devil Moon

Old Devil Moon

Christopher Fowler

A geologist trapped in a town without water is lured into a desperate escape plan. A boy plans a murder in an eerie funfair. A cop witnesses an inexplicable plague of madness. A teenager learns a deadly trick with his mobile phone. A woman unlocks a childhood secret with the aid of old comic books. A secret museum opens only at night.

Old Devil Moon is Christopher Fowler’s tenth collection of uniquely disturbing short stories, and contains the blackest humour and the darkest fears, set in worlds we walk through each day but rarely see.

Views: 684 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.018 sec