Annal: 2013 World Fantasy Award for Collection

Results of the World Fantasy Award in the year 2013.

Book:Where Furnaces Burn

Where Furnaces Burn

Joel Lane

Episodes from the casebook of a police officer in the West Midlands:

  • A young woman needs help in finding the buried pieces of her lover... so he can return to waking life.
  • Pale-faced thieves gather by a disused railway to watch a puppet theatre of love and violence.
  • Why do local youths keep starting fires in the ash woods around a disused mine in the Black Country?
  • A series of inexplicable deaths lead the police to uncover a secret cult of machine worship.
  • When a migrant worker disappears, the key suspect is a boy driven mad by memories that are not his own.
  • Among the derelict factories and warehouses at the heart of the city, an archaic god seeks out his willing victims.

Blurring the occult detective story with urban noir fiction, Where Furnaces Burn offers a glimpse of the myths and terrors buried within the industrial landscape.

Book:At the Mouth of the River of Bees

At the Mouth of the River of Bees: Stories

Kij Johnson

The wrenching and provocative debut collection from the author of The Fox Woman and Fudoki. Johnson’s stories have won the Sturgeon and World Fantasy awards and, for the last three years running, the Nebula Award.

Johnson’s stories range from historical Japan (Sturgeon award winner “Fox Magic”) to metafictional explorations of story structure (“Story Kit”). Nebula award winners “Spar” and “Ponies” are perhaps most shocking and captivating, but each of the seventeen stories here is a highlight selected from Johnson’s more than two decades of work.

These stories feature cats, bees, wolves, dogs, and even that most capricious of animals, humans, and have been reprinted in The Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror, Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, and The Secret History of Fantasy.

At the Mouth of the River of Bees is one of the most anticipated debut science fiction short story collections in recent years.

Book:Jagannath: Stories

Jagannath: Stories

Karin Tidbeck

Enter the strange and wonderful world of Swedish sensation Karin Tidbeck with this feast of darkly fantastical short stories. Whether through the falsified historical record of the uniquely weird Swedish creature known as the “Pyret” or the title story, “Jagannath,” about a biological ark in the far future, Tidbeck’s unique imagination will enthrall, amuse, and unsettle you. How else to describe a collection that includes “Cloudberry Jam,” a story that opens with the line “I made you in a tin can”?

Marvels, quirky character studies, and outright surreal monstrosities await you in the book widely praised by Ursula K. Le Guin, China Mieville, and Karen Joy Fowler. Introduction by Elizabeth Hand, afterword by the author. (Print version available in November.)

Book:Remember Why You Fear Me

Remember Why You Fear Me: The Best Dark Fiction of

Robert Shearman

A woman rejects her husband’s heart—and gives it back to him, still beating, in a plastic box. A little boy betrays his father to the harsh mercies of Santa Claus. A widower suspects his dead wife’s face is growing over his own. A man goes to Hell, and finds he’s roommate to the ghost of Hitler’s pet dog. Giant spiders, killer angels, ghost cat photography, and the haunted house right at the centre of the Garden of Eden.

Deliciously frightening, darkly satirical, and always unexpected, Robert Shearman has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award, the Shirley Jackson Award, and the Edge Hill Reader’s Prize. Remember Why You Fear Me gathers together his best dark fiction, the most celebrated stories from his acclaimed books, and ten new tales that have never been collected before.

Book:The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories

The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories

Ursula K. Le Guin

The Unreal and the Real is a major event not to be missed. In this two-volume selection of Ursula K. Le Guin’s best short stories——as selected by the National Book Award winning author herself——the reader will be delighted, provoked, amused, and faced with the sharp, satirical voice of one of the best short story writers of the present day.

Volume One: Where on Earth explores Le Guin’s earthbound stories which range around the world from small town Oregon to middle Europe in the middle of revolution to summer camp.

Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands includes Le Guin’s best known nonrealistic stories. Both volumes include new introductions by the author.

Views: 351 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.017 sec