Author: Christopher Priest

Information about the author.

Works

Book:The Prestige

The Prestige: A Novel

Christopher Priest

In 1878, two young stage magicians clash in the dark during the course of a fraudulent séance. From this moment on, their lives become webs of deceit and revelation as they vie to outwit and expose one another.

Their rivalry will take them to the peaks of their careers, but with terrible consequences. In the course of pursuing each other’s ruin, they will deploy all the deception their magicians’ craft can command—the highest misdirection and the darkest science.

Blood will be spilled, but it will not be enough. In the end, their legacy will pass on for generations…to descendants who must, for their sanity’s sake, untangle the puzzle left to them.

Book:The Islanders

The Islanders

Christopher Priest

Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary SF novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell.

A tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you.

The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. …[more]

Book:The Separation

The Separation

Christopher Priest

Christopher Priest excels at rethinking SF themes, lifting them above genre expectations into his own tricky, chilling, metaphysically dangerous territory. The Separation suggests an alternate history lying along a road not taken in World War II. But there are complications.

In 1999, history author Stuart Gratton is intrigued by a minor mystery of the European war which ended on 10 May 1941. The British-German armistice signed that month has had far-reaching consequences, including a resettlement of European Jews in Madagascar.

In 1936, the identical…

Book:The Extremes

The Extremes

Christopher Priest

Teresa Simons was widowed when her husband, an FBI agent, was killed in a small Texas town by a gunman on a shooting spree.

Born in England, Teresa returns to the country in hopes of coming to terms with her loss. In the small town of Bulverton on the south coast, she discovers a shocking coincidence: Bulverton also suffered the horror of a lone gunman on a killing spree.

Both episodes of mass murder occurred on the same June day.

With no explanation for this mysterious coincidence, Teresa is drawn to the virtual-reality world of Extreme Experience. She had trained previously with ExEx for her own work in government intelligence, but nothing has prepared her for the new technology…or for the corresponding effects it will have.

The Extremes is a mesmerizing and powerful novel about the human capacity for violence and the way society eagerly packages it as entertainment. It is a gripping read and it may well change the way you view the world.

Book:Inverted World

Inverted World

Christopher Priest

Book:Fugue for a Darkening Island

Fugue for a Darkening Island

Christopher Priest

Survivors of a terrible African war flee their blighted continent, and look for refuge in the countries of the West. But Britain is falling into civil war and anarchy. One of Christopher Priest’s earliest novels, Fugue for a Darkening Island is a powerful work whose subject matter has become increasingly relevant in recent years.

Views: 1,731 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec