Author: Isaac Bashevis Singer

Information about the author.


Book:A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories

A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories

Isaac Bashevis Singer

Book:A Day of Pleasure

A Day of Pleasure: Stories of a Boy Growing Up in Warsaw

Isaac Bashevis Singer

Isaac Bashevis Singer’s memories of his youth in Poland make a powerful, brilliant children’s book. The author lays out a panorama of Jewish life in the city—the rabbis in black velvet and gabardine, the shopkeepers, the street urchins and schoolboys, the poverty, the confusion, the excitement of the prewar time. But even more, the author reveals himself; and the torments and mysteries that plagued him as a child will make his stories fascinating to other children.

Book:The Death of Methuselah and Other Stories

The Death of Methuselah and Other Stories

Isaac Bashevis Singer

Nobel Prize-winner Singer’s 10th collection of short stories demonstrates “the same vigor that he has shown throughout his long career” (New York Times) and reaffirms his place as an extremely popular and enduring author.

Book:The Collected Stories (Isaac Bashevis Singer)

The Collected Stories

Isaac Bashevis Singer

The forty-seven stories in this collection, selected by Singer himself out of nearly one hundred and fifty, range from the publication of his now-classic first collection, Gimpel the Fool, in 1957, until 1981. They include supernatural tales, slices of life from Warsaw and the shtetls of Eastern Europe, and stories of the Jews displaced from that world to the New World, from the East Side of New York to California and Miami.

Views: 956 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.014 sec