Author: Marcia Muller

Information about the author.

Works

Book:Wolf in the Shadows

Wolf in the Shadows: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Marcia Muller

Successful in her investigative work for All Souls Legal Cooperative, happy with her newly renovated house, and feeling somewhat more secure in her relationship with the mysterious environmental activist, Hy Ripinsky, Sharon is shocked to find herself suddenly faced with a wrenching ultimatum.

No longer a small, informal co-op, All Souls has grown. New legal partners, exasperated with Sharon’s free-wheeling ways, want to kick her upstairs with a raise, perks, and a “career opportunity” that will chain her to a desk forever. Offered a take-it-or-leave-it deal, Sharon is in turmoil. And to make matters worse, Hy has disappeared. His abandoned plane, wrecked rental car, and a road map point to RKI, a firm of international security consultants with a reputation for questionable, unorthodox tactics and clients engaged in controversial research. Sharon discovers that they hired Hy as a free-lance operative and that they,…[more]

Book:Locked In: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Locked In: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Marcia Muller

Shot in the head by an unknown assailant, San Francisco private eye Sharon McCone finds herself trapped by locked-in syndrome: almost total paralysis but an alert, conscious mind. Since the late-night attack occurred at her agency’s offices, the natural conclusion was that it was connected to one of the firm’s cases. As Sharon lies in her hospital bed, furiously trying to break out of her body’s prison and discover her attacker’s identity, all the members of her agency fan out to find the reason why she was assaulted. Meanwhile, Sharon becomes a locked-in detective, evaluating the clues from her staff’s separate investigations and discovering unsettling truths that could put her life in jeopardy again. As the case draws to a surprising and even shocking conclusion, Sharon’s husband, Hy, must decide whether or not to surrender to his own violent past and exact fatal vengeance when the person responsible is identified.

Book:Listen to the Silence

Listen to the Silence: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Marcia Muller

For Sharon McCone, when one door opens, another shuts. In the midst of celebrating the joyous wedding of friends, she gets word that her father has suddenly died in San Diego. After making the sad journey home to help scatter his ashes, she also learns that her father quested that she, not any of her four brothers and sisters, be the one to sort through his personal effects. In a cardboard carton marked “Legal Papers,” McCone will discover why. A highly confidential document, long hidden, soon provokes a violent breach between McCone and her mother and sends McCone searching for the truth kept from her about the past. It’s a truth about four friends, a shattered love affair, and a violent murder. It’s a truth that no none wants her to find…

Now, from a reservation in Montana to locate Shoshone relatives to tracking down other kin at a sacred Indian lake in northern California, McCone will encounter old family secrets and modern disputes, an environmental lawyer in desperate trouble, and…[more]

Book:1001 Midnights

1001 Midnights: The Aficionado's Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction

Bill Pronzini, Marcia Muller

Mystery readers everywhere will dellight in this compendium of their favorite literature.

Book:Vanishing Point (Marcia Muller)

Vanishing Point: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Marcia Muller

In the latest installment in this critically acclaimed series, McCone is hired to investigate one of San Luis Obispo Countys most puzzling cold cases. A generation ago, Laurel Greenwood, a housewife and artist, inexplicably vanished, leaving her young daughter alone. Now, new evidence suggests that the missing woman may have led a strange double life. But before McCone can penetrate the tangled mystery, she must first solve a second disappearancethat of her client, the now grown daughter of Laurel Greenwood. The case, which forces Sharon to explore the darker sides of two marriages, comes uncomfortably close on the heels of her own marriage to Hy Ripinsky, and she begins to doubt the wisdom of her impulsive trip to the Reno wedding chapel.

Book:Where Echoes Live

Where Echoes Live: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Marcia Muller

Private eye Sharon McCone’s twelfth mystery now in paperback. Responding to a former colleague’s request for help, Sharon McCone travels to the high-desert town of Tufa Lake, California, to track down a commercial mining operation that could seriously damage the ecosystem…and a killer bent on even deadlier destruction.

“Fans of Sara Paretsky and Sue Grafton…are in for a treat.”—Kansas City Star.

Book:The Shape of Dread

The Shape of Dread: A Sharon McCone Mystery

Marcia Muller

Bobby Foster, car-hop at the chic Cafe Comedie, is going to the gas chamber. He’s already confessed to the murder of Tracy Kostakos, the club’s rising star. But two years after the crime, Tracy’s body is still missing and Bobby’s confession is full of holes. All Souls Legal Cooperative’s final appeal sends San Francisco’s #1 P.I. Sharon McCone behind the footlights into the super-charged arena of anxious club owners and aspiring young hopefuls…into the fractured world of Tracy’s privileged family and the mind of a young comedienne who was not the good little girl they thought they knew…into a labyrinth of death and deception where someone will kill to laugh last and get away with murder.

Views: 1,042 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.029 sec