Award: Bobbitt National Prize

The biennial Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry, named for President Lyndon B. Johnson's sister Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt, is donated in her memory by her family and established at the Library of Congress. The prize is awarded in even-numbered years.

Eligible books must be authored by a U.S. citizen. The winner is selected by a panel of three judges who are appointed by a selection committee. The committee includes the Librarian of Congress, the Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry, and a judge nominated by the Bobbitt family.

The winner receives $10,000.


  • There were two winners in 1992.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
October 2014


Bobbitt winner


Views: 3,887 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.021 sec