Award: CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals

Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919)

The Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals are awarded annually for outstanding children's books. They are awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, which is a new organisation formed on 1 April 2002 by the unification of the Institute of Information Scientists and The Library Association.

Each winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.

The Carnegie Medal was established by The Library Association in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). It is given to the writer of an outstanding book for children and young people. The book must have received its first publication in the United Kingdom or have had co-publication elsewhere within a three month time lapse.

Kate Greenaway

The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs.

Since 2000, the winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal has also been awarded the £5000 Colin Mears Award. Colin Mears, a Worthing based accountant and children's book collector, left a bequest providing every Greenaway winner with a cash award as well as the coveted Medal.


  • Prior to 2007, these medals are identified with the year of eligibility. Now the year of the award ceremony is used. Consequently, there is no award for 2006.
  • No Carnegie Medal was awarded in 1943, 1945 and 1966 due to a lack of suitable nominees.
  • No Greenaway Medal was awarded in 1955 or 1958 due to a lack of suitable nominees.
  • In four different years, the Greenaway Medal was won by two books by the same author. In 1969 Helen Oxenbury won for both The Quangle Wangle's Hat and The Dragon of an Ordinary Family. In 1975 Victor Ambrus won for both Horses in Battle and Mishka. In 1982 Michael Foreman won for both Long Neck and Thunder Foot and Sleeping Beauty and Other Favourite Fairy Tales. In 1959 William Stobbs won for Kashtanka and A Bundle of Ballads.


? Event Calendar
March 2014


Carnegie & Greenaway shortlists
June 2014


Carnegie & Greenaway winners


Views: 2,039 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.030 sec