Award: Edgar Allan Poe Award®

Rupert Holmes’ Edgar® awarded for Accomplice

The Edgar Allan Poe Award® is awarded every April by the Mystery Writers of America (MWA). Membership is open to anyone, although “active membership” (and the possibility of serving on a judging panel) is reserved for published crime writers.

Eligible novels must be published in the U.S. in English and nominated by the publisher. Nominees for Best First Novel must be authored by a U.S. citizen. Each category has a panel of active MWA members (working writers) who engage in a series of top-ten rankings until a clear winner and top-five are produced.

Winners receive a bust of Edgar Allan Poe.


  • The Juvenile award was discontinued in 1990 and returned in 1991.
  • The Motion Picture award was discontinued in 2010.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
January 2014


Edgar nominees
May 2014


Edgar winners


Views: 15,915 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.091 sec