Award: Hugo Award

Ellen Datlow’s Hugo: 2002 Best Professional Editor

The Hugo Award, named for Hugo Gernsback, “The Father of Magazine Science Fiction,” is the most prestigious award for Science Fiction. It is awarded mid-Summer every year by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) and administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). Award Annals presents two of numerous categories: Best Novel and Best Dramatic Presentaion—Long Form.

Hugo nominees and winners are determined by a popular vote of the convention attendees. Winners are awarded a trophy that depicts a rocket. The trophy design differs from year to year.

See a complete award history at Locus Online.


  • There were 2 winners in 1966, 1993, and 2010.
  • The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress was nominated in 1966 and won in 1967. It is listed only in 1967 to preserve scoring integrity.
  • There was no award for Novel category in 1957.
  • The 1946, 1951 and 1954 awards were “Retro Hugos” awarded in 1996, 2001 and 2004 respectively.


? Event Calendar
March 2014


Hugo nominees
September 2014


Hugo winners


Views: 13,588 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.027 sec