Award: Los Angeles Times Book Prize


The Los Angeles Times Book Prize is awarded every Spring, highlighting the newspaper’s annual Festival of Books with a gala evening ceremony, open to the public. Eligible books must be published in the U.S. in English. Eight panels of three judges each provide all nominations and choose both finalists and winners. (The fiction panel handles both the fiction and the first fiction categories.)

The winners receive a citation and $500.


  • Several books have been finalists in both the History and Current Interest categories and have been scored only in History. 1991:The Prize, 1991:The Promised Land, 1996:Ashes to Ashes.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
February 2014


LA Times finalists
April 2014


LA Times winners


Views: 11,937 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.037 sec