Award: Macavity Award

The Macavity Award, named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot’s Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats, is bestowed annually at Bouchercon by Mystery Readers International (MRI). The nominees and winners receive recognition on the MRI website and Journal.

Eligible novels must be published in the U.S. in English and be nominated by MRI members. Winners are determined by votes received from MRI members.


  • The Nonfiction category was known as the Bio/Critical (years 2002-2004) and the Critical/Biographical (years, 1987-1996, 1999).
  • The First Novel category had two winners in 1987 and 1992.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
July 2014


Macavity nominees
September 2014


Macavity winners


Views: 7,962 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.030 sec