Award: Prometheus Award


The Prometheus Award was created in 1979 by science fiction writer L. Neil Smith to honor libertarian fiction. Due to the cost of the award, and lack of a formal organization, the Prometheus Awards fell into limbo the following year.

Founded in 1982 to provide encouragement to science fiction writers whose books examine the meaning of freedom, the Libertarian Futurist Society revived the Prometheus Award. Every Summer, the winner is presented with a gold coin, representing free trade and free minds, mounted on an engraved plaque.


  • There were two winners in 2008 and 2012.
  • There was no winner in 1985.
  • The award was discontinued in 1980 and returned in 1982.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
April 2014


Prometheus finalists
July 2014


Prometheus winner


Views: 7,044 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.024 sec