Award: Walt Whitman Award

Walt Whitman, 1887

The Walt Whitman Award, named for that famous American poet, was established in 1975 to encourage the work of emerging poets and to enable the publication of a poet's first book. It is administered by the Academy of American Poets.

Eligible manuscripts must submitted by a living U.S. citizen who has never published or committed to publish a book of poetry. A winner is selected by a single judge appointed by the Academy. The winner receives $5000, a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center, and publication by the Louisiana State University Press.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
April 2014


Walt Whitman winner


Views: 3,798 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.025 sec