Award: World Fantasy Award

The World Fantasy Award (also known as the Lovecraft Award or the Howie) was established in 1975 as a fantasy counterpart to the Hugo and Nebula Awards. It is bestowed every October at the World Fantasy Convention.

Eligible books must be published in English and the author must be living. Convention registrants nominate two entries for the final ballot, and a panel of judges nominate three. The judges then choose a winner.

The winner receives a trophy: a bust of H.P. Lovecraft.


  • The award was discontinued in 1976 through 1980.
  • The Novel category had 2 winners in 1985, 1991, 2001, 2003, and 2009.
  • The Collection category had 2 winners in 1989, and 2000.
  • The Collection category began in 1988. Prior to 1988, there was an Anthology/Collection category which included stories by multiple authors collected by an editor. This site does not include awards for anthologies.
  • Complete history of all categories: Locus Online.

Event Calendar

? Event Calendar
November 2013


World Fantasy winners
August 2014


World Fantasy nominees


Views: 8,613 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.024 sec