Blog: Category winners of the 2012 Costa Book Awards


Costa has announced the category winners of the 2012 Costa Book Awards. The Costa Book Awards recognize the most enjoyable books published in the last year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. Originally established in 1971 by Whitbread PLC, Costa Coffee announced its takeover of the sponsorship of the UK's popular and prestigious book prize in 2006. 2012 marks the 41st year of the Book Awards.

The five categories received 550 entries, and the shortlists where chosen by five panels of three judges each. Each winner, announced 3 January 2013, will receive £5,000. The overall winner, announced 29 January 2012, will receive £30,000.

Below are the winners in the Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book categories.

  • Book:Bring Up the Bodies
  • Book:The Innocents (Francesca Segal)
  • Book:Dotter of Her Father's Eyes
  • Book:The Overhaul: Poetry
  • Book:Maggot Moon


Views: 297 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.017 sec