Blog: Finalists for the 2013 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction


The PEN/Faulkner Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2013 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, a national prize that honors outstanding works of fiction by American writers each year. The judges—Walter Kirn, Nelly Rosario, and A.J. Verdelle—considered more than 350 novels and short story collections by American authors published in the U.S. during the 2012 calendar year. Submissions came from 130 publishing houses, including small and academic presses.

The winner, who will receive $15,000, will be announced on March 19th. The four finalists will receive $5,000 each.

  • Book:Threats (Amelia Gray)
  • Book:Kind One (Laird Hunt)
  • Book:Hold it 'Til It Hurts
  • Book:Watergate (Thomas Mallon)
  • Book:Everything Begins & Ends at the Kentucky Club


Views: 303 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec