Blog: Nominees for the 2010 Hammett Prize


The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers has announced nominees for their annual Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author.

The nominees are listed in the annal.

A reading committee of IACW/NA members selected the nominees, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community. The committee was headed by Jillian Abbott and included J. Madison Davis, Robert Knightly, Annette Meyers, and Ann Romeo.

The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: David Savran (Distinguished Professor of Theatre, CUNY Graduate Center), author of Highbrow/Lowdown: Theater, Jazz, and the Making of the New Middle Class; Bonnie Scherr, owner of Baltimore’s Ivy Book Shop; and Robin Whitten, Editor of AudioFile.

The organization will name the Hammett Prize winner on September 20, in Atlantic City, during the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association (NAIBA) Fall Conference. The winner will receive a bronze trophy (pictured), designed by sculptor Peter Boiger.

Views: 362 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.015 sec