Blog: Nominees for the 2011 Hammett Prize


The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers has announced their nominees for the 2011 Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author. A reading committee of IACW/NA members selected the nominees, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community. The committee was headed by Deen Kogan and included Jedediah Berry, Vicki Cameron, Lorenzo Carcaterra, and Thomas Laird.

The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: Kevin Connolly, Canadian poet and editor; Eileen Hutton, founder of Brilliance Audio; and Paula J. Massood, author of Black City Cinema: African American Urban Experiences in Film.

  • Book:Feast Day of Fools
  • Book:Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead
  • Book:The Cat's Table
  • Book:The Informant (Thomas Perry)
  • Book:The Killer is Dying

The winner, who will receive a bronze trophy, will be announced during the Bloody Words Conference in Toronto, June 1-3, 2012.


Views: 166 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec