Blog: Nominees for the 2012 World Fantasy Award

The nominees for the 2012 World Fantasy Awards have been announced. Two nominations were chosen by attendees of the World Fantasy Convention, while the remaining nominees were chosen by judges. The award judges are: John Berlyne, James P. Blaylock, Stephen Gallagher, Mary Kay Kare, and Jacques Post.

The awards will be presented on November 3 at the World Fantasy Convention in Toronto, Canada. The winners will receive a bust of H.P. Lovecraft.


  • Book:Those Across the River
  • Book:11/22/1963: A Novel
  • Book:A Dance with Dragons
  • Book:Osama (Lavie Tidhar)
  • Book:Among Others


  • Book:Bluegrass Symphony
  • Book:Two Worlds and in Between
  • Book:After the Apocalypse: Stories
  • Book:Mrs Midnight and Other Stories
  • Book:The Bible Repairman and Other Stories


  • “Near Zennor”, Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
  • “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong”, K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet”, Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Rose Street Attractors”, Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)
  • “Silently and Very Fast”, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA Press; Clarkesworld)

Short Fiction

  • “X for Demetrious”, Steve Duffy (Blood and Other Cravings)
  • “Younger Women”, Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean Summer 2011)
  • “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)
  • “A Journey of Only Two Paces”, Tim Powers (The Bible Repairman and Other Stories)
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)


  • Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Harper Voyager US)
  • The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)
  • Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)


  • John Coulthart
  • Julie Dillon
  • Jon Foster
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • John Picacio

Special Award Professional

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing - anthology and magazine
  • Jo Fletcher, for editing - Jo Fletcher Books
  • Eric Lane, for publishing in translation - Dedalus books
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
  • Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional

  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
  • Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  • Mark Valentine, for Wormwood


Views: 262 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.021 sec