Blog: Shortlist for the 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize


The Scotiabank Giller Prize has announced its 2011 shortlist. The six finalists were chosen from an unprecedented longlist of 17 books. The original field of submissions was a record-breaking 143 titles put forward by 55 publishing houses from every region of Canada. The shortlist and a winner are chosen by an esteemed jury panel:

  • Annabel Lyon, award-winning Canadian writer and 2009 Scotiabank Giller Prize finalist
  • Howard Norman, American author, memoirist and Guggenheim fellow
  • Andrew O’Hagan, acclaimed UK playwright and prize-winning novelist

The finalists are documented in Annal: 2011 Giller Prize for Fiction.

Each finalist will receive CDN$5,000. The winner, announced in Toronto on November 8, will receive CDN$50,000.

Views: 191 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.019 sec