Blog: Shortlist for the 2011 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry


The Poetry Book Society has announced the shortlist for the 2011 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry. Judges Gillian Clarke (Chair), Stephen Knight and Dennis O'Driscoll have chosen six collections from the 104 books submitted by publishers, which join the four PBS Choices to make up the ten collections on the shortlist.

The winner will be announced on the evening of Monday 16 January 2012 in London. Mrs Valerie Eliot, who has generously donated the prize money since the inception of the Prize, will present the winner with a cheque for £15,000 and each of the shortlisted poets will receive a cheque for £1,000.

  • Book:Black Cat Bone
  • Book:The Bees (Carol Ann Duffy)
  • Book:Profit and Loss (Leontia Flynn)
  • Book:Night (David Harsent)
  • Book:Armour (John Kinsella)

  • Book:Grace (Esther Morgan)
  • Book:Tippoo Sultan's Incredible White-Man-Eating Tiger Toy-Machine!!!
  • Book:November (Sean O'Brien)
  • Book:Farmers Cross
  • Book:Memorial (Alice Oswald)

Source: Poetry Book Society website

Views: 210 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.017 sec