Blog: Winner of the 2011 Royal Society Prize for Science Books


The Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books has been announced. The Royal Society presented the £10,000 award to Gavin Pretor-Pinney at an award ceremony held at the Royal Society in London. Sponsorship for this year’s award was provided by global investment management company Winton Capital Management, as part of a five year sponsorship deal for the prize.

The authors of each shortlisted book were awarded £1000.

The judging panel:

  • Richard Holmes, biographer and previous winner of the prize
  • Professor Jenny Clack FRS, Professor and Curator of Vertebrate Palaeontology
  • Robert Llewellyn, writer, actor and TV presenter
  • Professor Cait MacPhee, Professor of Biological Physics.


Views: 249 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.014 sec
  • Facebook
  • AboutUs
  • Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike