Blog: Winner of the 2012 Hammett Prize


The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers has announced the winner of their 2012 Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author. The winning title was chosen from five Hammett nominees by a group of three distinguished outside judges:

  • Rob Dougherty, Manager of the Clinton Book Shop, in New Jersey
  • Janet Groth, author of The Receptionist: An Education at The New Yorker
  • Edward D. Miller, professor of Film and Theatre (CUNY), and author of Tomboys, Pretty Boys, and Outspoken Women

Mr. Owen was awarded a bronze trophy, designed by West Coast sculptor, Peter Boiger. The award ceremony took place in Somerset, New Jersey, on October 1, during the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association’s (NAIBA) Fall Conference.


Views: 239 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.015 sec