Blog: Winner of the 2012 Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books


The Royal Society has announced the winner of its 2012 Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books. The £10,000 prize was awarded to James Gleick by Sir Paul Nurse, Nobel Prize-winning President of the Royal Society at a ceremony at the Society’s headquarters in London.

Shortlisted authors will receive £1000 each. The winning science book is:

The judging panel:

  • Professor Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE FRS, Visiting Professor at the Department of Astrophysics, University of Oxford
  • Jasper Fforde, Author of Thursday Next novels and The Last Dragonslayer series
  • Tania Hershman, Author of short story collections, writer-in-residence at the University of Bristol and founder and editor of The Short Review
  • Kim Shillinglaw, BBC Commissioning Editor for Science and Natural History
  • Dr Samuel Turvey, Royal Society University Research Fellow, Institute of Zoology


Views: 402 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.017 sec
  • Facebook
  • AboutUs
  • Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike