Blog: Winner of the 2012 Scotiabank Giller Prize


The winner of the 2012 Scotiabank Giller Prize was announced in Toronto at a black-tie dinner and award ceremony hosted by Jian Ghomeshi, attended by more than 500 members of the publishing, media and arts communities. The largest annual literary prize in Canada, the prize awarded CDN$50,000 to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English, and CDN$5,000 to each of the finalists.

The shortlist and ultimate winner were selected by the esteemed three-member jury empanelled for the 2012 prize: Irish author and screenwriter Roddy Doyle; Canadian publisher, writer and essayist Anna Porter; and American author and satirist Gary Shteyngart.

The winner is:


Views: 379 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.014 sec