Blog: Winner of the 2012 Walt Whitman Award

Walt Whitman, 1887

The Academy of American Poets announced today that Matt Rasmussen has been selected by the poet Jane Hirshfield as the recipient of the 2012 Walt Whitman Award. Matt Rasmussen received the Award for his book-length collection of poems Black Aperture, which will be published in the spring of 2013 by Louisiana State University Press.

The Walt Whitman Award, is one of the most prestigious first book prizes in the country, as it publishes a first collection by an American poet, and distributes the book to thousands of members of the Academy. The Whitman Award also includes a $5,000 cash prize and a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center.

Last year's winner has now been published and is available for purchase:


Views: 438 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.016 sec