Blog: Winner of the 2013 Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books


The Royal Society has announced the winner of its 2013 Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books. The £25,000 prize was awarded to theoretical physicist, TV presenter and author, Sean Carroll by Sir Paul Nurse, Nobel Prize-winning President of the Royal Society at a ceremony at the Society’s headquarters in London.

Shortlisted authors will receive £2,500 each. The winning science book is:

The judging panel:

  • Jon Culshaw, Impressionist and comedian
  • Dr Emily Flashman, Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow, Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford
  • Professor Uta Frith DBE FBA FRS, Emeritus Professor of Cognitive Development, University College London
  • Joanne Harris, Novelist and author of Chocolat
  • Lucy Siegle, Journalist and writer on environmental issues


Views: 184 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.014 sec