Book: Kill Me

Cover image
Book:

Kill Me

Author: Stephen White
Honors:
Genres:
Publisher: Signet Book

Throw out everything you think you know about twists, turns, and surprises. Get ready for the next big thing. Get ready to meet the Death Angels.

We’ve all been there. A loved one or a dear friend becomes desperately ill or is tragically injured. Someone—maybe even you—says, “If that ever happens to me, I wish someone would just…kill me.”

What if you could choose when to die? But once you decide, you can’t change your mind. Ever. No matter what.

Welcome to the next step in the evolution of suspense fiction, to an in-your-face/what-would-you-do? topical thriller. Kill Me is a brilliantly conceived roller-coaster ride that zeros in on some of the most contentious issues of our time, the human yearning for connection between the choices we make about our lives and deaths.

Kill Me brings Alan Gregory face-to-face with the most challenging case of his career. As always, White’s characters are indelible and the dialogue is dead-on, but Kill Me is fresh and thought provoking in a way that’s so uncommon in crime fiction. Kill Me delivers on all the promise of White’s earlier work and then raises the bar in an unforgettably inventive tale of life and death. This is the book that you won’t be able to put down, but more to the point, this is the book that won’t go away. Listeners will be asking each other: “What would you do?” “If you could sign up—really—would you?”

Reviews

Barnes and Noble

The newest installment in Stephen White’s Dr. Alan Gregory series asks the question: If you could choose when to die, would you? After a wealthy entrepreneur—who has a brother with Lou Gehrig’s disease and a friend in a permanently vegetative state after a diving accident—decides to enlist the services of a shadowy company (a.k.a. the Death Angels) to covertly end his life if his physical and/or mental capacities deteriorate below a certain level, he realizes too late that every second of existence, regardless of its perceived quality, is invaluable.

Colorado psychiatrist Alan Gregory faces his most challenging case ever when “an anonymous rich white guy” schedules sessions with him. The man has become deeply unsettled by an accident that has turned a close friend into a brain-dead husk; determining that he never wants to live like that, he pays the Death Angels a million dollars to give him peace of mind—then promptly forgets about his policy, until a brain aneurysm threatens his life and he is informed that “the client-derived parameters have been exceeded.”

Kill Me is much more than a stay-up-all-night psychological thriller. The novel’s deeply introspective themes revolve around profoundly serious topics like death and dying, coping with unforeseen tragedies, grief and healing, etc. But considering the amount of dark plotlines running through the book, Kill Me has a surprisingly uplifting message: While one foot may be in the grave, the other definitely is not. Fans of authors like Stephen King and Dean Koontz will absolutely love this unique and unsettling novel. Kill me if I’m wrong. Paul Goat Allen

Views: 469 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.015 sec