Book: Lessing's Autobiography series

Cover image

Lessing's Autobiography series

Author: Doris May Lessing
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Series Titles

Book:Under My Skin

Under My Skin: Volume 1 of My Autobiography, to 1949

Doris May Lessing

“I was born with skins too few. Or they were scrubbed off me by…robust and efficient hands.”

The experiences absorbed through these “skins too few” are evoked in this memoir of Doris Lessing’s childhood and youth as the daughter of a British colonial family in Persia and Southern Rhodesia Honestly and with overwhelming immediacy, Lessing maps the growth of her consciousness, her sexuality, and her politics, offering a rare opportunity to get under her skin and discover the forces that made her one of the most distinguished writers of our time.

Book:Walking in the Shade

Walking in the Shade: Volume 2 of My Autobiography, 1949-1962

Doris May Lessing

Walking in the Shade covers the years 1949 -1962, from Lessing’s arrival in London with her son, Peter, and the manuscript of her first novel, The Grass Is Singing, under her arm to the publication of her most famous work of fiction, The Golden Notebook.

This was the period of the Cold War, a poisonously political time, but Doris Lessing reminds us—in perhaps the book’s most striking achievement—of what has been forgotten: that it was a time also of idealism and hope, of a sense of personal responsibility for the world, and of generosity of the imagination. She describes how communism dominated the intellectual life of the ‘50s—it is hard now to appreciate how much—and how she, like nearly all communists, became disillusioned with extreme and rhetorical politics and left communism behind. …[more]

Views: 653 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.017 sec